Home » Open Ed » Sansad Ratna Awards 2016

Sansad Ratna Awards 2016

National Seminar on Politics, Democracy and Governance (5th edition) and Sansad Ratna Awards 2016...

👤 Sukruti Narayanan12 Jun 2016 4:40 PM GMT
Sansad Ratna Awards 2016
Share Post

National Seminar on Politics, Democracy and Governance (5th edition) and Sansad Ratna Awards 2016 (7th edition) was held at IIT Madras on 11th June 2016. Five Lok Sabha MPs and one retired Rajya Sabha MP were honoured with Sansad Ratna Award 2016 in the presence of galaxy of eminent people of Chennai. Dr C Rangarajan (Former Governor of Reserve Bank of India and Andhra Pradesh) presented the Awards. Dr Bhaksar Ramamurthy, Director of IIT Madras was also present.

Shri Shivaji Adhalrao Patil (Shiv Sena MP from Maharashtra), Shri P P Chaudhary (BJP MP from Rajasthan), Shri Shrirang Appa Barne (Shiv Sena MP from Maharashtra), Dr Heena Vijaykumar Gavit (BJP MP from Maharashtra), Shri Rajeev Shankarrao Satav (Congress MP from Maharashtra) and Shri P Rajeev (Retired Rajya Sabha MP from Kerala) were honoured with Sansad Ratna Awards.

The Sansad Ratna Awards was instituted by Prime Point Foundation and the eMagazine PreSense to honour top performing Parliamentarians on various parameters every year after the Budget Session. This Award was instituted as suggested by Dr Abdul Kalam, to honour the achievers. Incidentally, Dr Abdul Kalam devoted an entire chapter on the Sansad Ratna Awards in his last book, 'Ä Manifesto for Change'.

A selection committee headed by Shri Anandrao Adsul (fifth time MP), along with Shri Hansraj G Ahir (Minister of State and fourth time MP) and Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal (second time MP) selected the Award winners. The selection committee members, who are outstanding MPs themselves in terms of their performance in the Parliament, were honoured with the 'Sansad Maha Ratna' Awards for their contribution in the 15th Lok Sabha.

By Sukruti Narayanan, Editorial Team Member, PreSense


Website : www.sansadratna.in

EMail : sansadratna@gmail.com